Anxiety about the instability of Mountain Lion

Reaction score
Please could anyone advise me? I am thinking of upgrading our MacBook Pro (Late 2007) from 10.6.8 to Mountain Lion. However I have been concerned by some of the stories of instability in basic functions that have resulted for some.

Is there a risk for me? As my wife and I now both have iPhones, I use an iPad 4 & my wife and I use the MacBook Pro - it seems sensible to use iCloud with the MacBook Pro.

I'm not tech savvy and just want to be able to use the iCloud across all platforms.

Any advice out there? O:) I am a newby to Mac Forums.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Please could anyone advise me? I am thinking of upgrading our MacBook Pro (Late 2007) from 10.6.8 to Mountain Lion. However I have been concerned by some of the stories of instability in basic functions that have resulted for some.

Is there a risk for me? As my wife and I now both have iPhones, I use an iPad 4 & my wife and I use the MacBook Pro - it seems sensible to use iCloud with the MacBook Pro.

I'm not tech savvy and just want to be able to use the iCloud across all platforms.

Any advice out there? O:) I am a newby to Mac Forums.

There is ALWAYS a risk with any change of something going wrong. But FWIW I am running Mtn Lion on my late 2007 15in MBP with no stability issues, and my wife and I both have iPhones and iPads and use iCloud.

If you have the same model I do then hardware to run Mtn Lion shouldn't be an issue, but you should have a minimum (more is better) of 2GB RAM and I would say a minimum of 10% disk free space (again more is preferred).