My macbook air doesn't read the start up disk

Reaction score
Hello, please I need help.

Im a mac user for a while, can't say that I'm an expert but after some time using mac I got relatively used to its environment, however last week i experienced something that is out of my knowledge skills and I'm going crazy trying to solve it.
I was using my mac and it froze, stupidly i turned it off by pressing the power button, next thing that happened was that the only thing showing in my screen was a folder with an interrogation sign.
After going through internet I read that the problem is that my macbook is not reading the starting disk and that i needed to reinstall the Lion OS.
Problem: I don't have a back up of my computer, my main concern are photos and music and couple of files.
According to what I found out, it is possibly that I start the computer with an external version of the Lion OS stored in a flash drive and then I can access the computer and make a back up.
OK, sounds a bit complicated but i think i can manage. According to my research i can download and save the Lion OS on an external flash drive by buying it from the App Store.
The question is: can I buy it on another mac and create the external version without damaging the OS on the computer from which i will be creating the version for flash disk?
I really don't know what to do, and I've been dealing with this with over 10 days.
Any help would be highly appreciated.
Many thanks!

Carlos.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
The question is: can I buy it on another mac and create the external version without damaging the OS on the computer from which i will be creating the version for flash disk?

Yes you can. When running the installer, be sure you select the correct drive. As a word of caution... you should, as ALWAYS you should, have a backup of that other Mac made in advance in case you do something wrong.

Reaction score