Using My Brand New Mini on Old Philips Monitor

Reaction score
I just got a new Mac mini and keyboard. I'm using a Philips HDTV monitor, hdmi to hdmi. I got the mini specifically because it was affordable and would take third party peripherals but the screen looks bad.

No matter how I set the resolution the fonts are thick and slightly blurry. Most pages need to be zoomed up in order for me to be able to read them and most everything, including photos look pixelated and heavy. Nothing appears crisp and sharp.

I've never worked on a mac before and I purchased sight unseen because I need to do some graphic work and I wanted what mac offered, but I can't imagine doing any graphic work like this.

I used this same monitor with my Windows pc and had a much nicer display. I thought the mac would be better. I'm hoping it's an issue with the Philips brand but I'd appreciate any insight.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Did you hook it to your Windows PC via HDMI?

EDIT:
I have an older Mac Mini (pre-HDMI version) and a 27 in Viewsonic Monitor. Have hooked my Mini to my Monitor two ways, via DisplayPort to HDMI adapter and via VGA input. Both work fine.

I've heard there is an issue with HDMI and TV hookup with 2012 Mac Minis and supposedly there is a fix coming. But the problem I heard about (flickering as I remember) doesn't sound like what is happening with yours.

OP
A
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply Razormac,

On the Windows PC this TV/monitor was hooked up via the VGA. Now with the mac mini I'm using the HDMI connection.

I have been poking around since I posted here and it looks like maybe I need to purchase an actual PC monitor vs a TV in order to get a sharp resolution.......?

I mean, my Windows PC wasn't perfect for graphic work but everything else was sharp, but on this mac the whole display is...just...bad....no matter what resolution setting I try.

Kinda disappointing.

RavingMac