MacBook Pro (early 2011) Memory + Storage upgrade

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPhone 4S iPod Nano 6th Gen MacBook Pro (2011) -OS: OS X v.10.6.8 -Processor: 2.3 GHz Intel Core i5
My MacBook Pro is early 2011 model w/ following specs:
4GB RAM 1333MHz DDR3
2.3 GHz Intel Core i5
320GB storage

I bought it as a refurb a month and a half ago and love it (first Mac) but would like to do some upgrades.

I'm looking to upgrade to 16GB RAM and 1TB hard drive storage.

I did some research and found these on Other World Computing:

16GB RAM (8GBx2 + 1333MHz): OWC 1333DDR3S16P 16.0GB (8GBx2) PC3-10600 DDR3... in stock at OWC

1TB Storage:
Toshiba OWCDIYTOSH1.0F3 DIY KIT:1.0TB HD for... in stock at OWC

I'm brand new to this and wanted to get veterans' opinions as to whether or not I'm on the right track. I feel pretty good about the RAM, but the storage is a little fuzzy to me - namely the interface. The interface they show doesn't look like the one on my MacBook Pro and wondering if this will cause any compatibility issues?

Also, while I'm upgrading, are there any other upgrades you would recommend? This is my personal computer and I also plan to use it for short (amateur) film production and some amateur graphic design.

Any thoughts or advice appreciated. Cheers!

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I wouldn't put any data I cared about on a Toshiba hard drive.

Your MacBook Pro supports just about any 2.5" SATA2/3 hard disk. SATA3 (6GB/s) is only important if you're shopping for an SSD (which it doesn't appear that you are, given that you're going for a 1TB drive). Personally, I'd be looking at a 7200rpm drive, even if you have to take a slight loss in terms of capacity (you can always use your old drive as an external).

Stick with Hitachi, Western Digital or Seagate (in that order) if you want a reliable drive.

Hope that helps.

OP
M
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs