MacBook Pro 13": June vs October / i7 vs i5 / Hard Drive vs SSD / No Retina vs Retina

Reaction score
Hi,

New to Mac, in search of some experienced advice. To cut a very long story short, I'm restricted by the range on offer on Currys' website and a budget of around £1300. With this in mind I have narrowed it down to two options:

The June 2012 released "MD102B/A"

-or-

The October 2012 released "MD212B/A"

My current (failed after 3 months) laptop spec includes a Sandy Bridge i7-2677M processor, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD, Intel 3000 HD graphics. I use my computer for all the usual internet browsing, email, Office, music, video playback, TV out device as well as for frequent Photoshop and HD video editing (short videos it should be said, <10mins, often 0-5 mins).

Not a computer gamer... at all, just a certain classic series obsessive (as my user and av might give away!).

I'm a student so will be using it for boring essays and the like but I'm also interested in graphic, web and broadcast design and therefore am looking for a set-up that will assist my development of these skills into something useful going forward. Future-proofing is at the top of my mind, especially given the monetary outlay.

The key battlegrounds as I see them (June vs October):

-- i7 (2.9GHz dual-core) vs i5 (2.5GHz dual-core): Main point of difference. Is it worth getting the older model simply for the i7 processor alone? Could I expect to see any noticeable difference given intended usage outlined above?

-- Hard Drive vs SSD: I adore the start-up speed the 128GB SSD fitted inside my current laptop provides but occasionally feel hampered by its limited capacity. At home, I have two external hard drives totalling 2TB but obviously this restricts portability. Is it worth sacrificing boot time and write speed to have greater internal storage?