Macbook Mid 2007 RAM/Hard Drive Upgrade

Reaction score
Hello all

I have a white mid 2007 Macbook (MB061LL/A) 1GB RAM (2 x 512MB) with a 250GB Samsung HN M25250 MBB hard drive installed. I'm running Snow Leopard 10.6.8.

I cant justify or afford to buy a new Macbook as I have an iPad and only use the Macbook for occasional downloads, iTunes, E-mail and internet browsing.

My questions are:

I have found this RAM from crucial and wondered if this will improve my Macbook's speed?

2GB kit (1GBx2), 200-pin SODIMM, DDR2 PC2-5300 upgrades for Apple MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (13-inch White) MB061LL/A Laptop/Notebook, CT613250 from Crucial.com

Is this is the maximum RAM that can be installed as i'm sure i've read somewhere that it can take 2 x 2GB of RAM but will only use just over 3GB?

Regarding the hard drive, can somebody suggest (I don't know if this is possible) any 500GB or more hard drive that would work well (I have a lot of music to store). I have limited knowledge of this and don't know weather to go for a solid state or a 'normal' drive?

Lastly would downgrading to Leopard improve the overall speed? Or any other tips on improving overall performance would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
Raff

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I have found this RAM from crucial and wondered if this will improve my Macbook's speed?

Since you currently only have 1gig of ram…more ram will certainly help.:)

Is this is the maximum RAM that can be installed as i'm sure i've read somewhere that it can take 2 x 2GB of RAM but will only use just over 3GB?

You got it right. You can install 4gig of ram…but only around 3.25gig will be addressable.