Having problems with fonts in word

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Notebook
Hello
I am a newbie here and have just bought Mac Office University version.
I had a free trial version of Mac Office for a couple of weeks before I bought my own Uni version and I was able to see the typfaces of the all fonts on the toolbar list. But since I got my own copy...all these have gone 'plain text' and cannot see how they look...unless I click and change...is this normal? Can I flick or click something so that I can see the typefaces? Please help :[

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Not sure I'm following you? What toolbar list in Word had all the fonts displayed so that you could see them? You can view all the typefaces on your machine by opening your "Font Book.app" from the Applications folder. MS Office installs a separate folder of fonts in addition to what is already included with OS X and that will show up in the Font Book application.

C

chas_m

I think he means that when he was using Word before, the font list would appear styled visually, like AppleWorks and Pages do. The new install of Word evidently doesn't have that preference ticked, and I can't help because I don't have Office.

M

MacInWin

He double posted, but the solution is to open Word, open a document, then on the top bar choose Word, Preferences, General and tick the box for "WYSIWYG font and style menus." I'm not double posting, so this is the only thread in which I'll say that.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey