Mac Pro 1,1 advice please - College Student

Reaction score
Hi I recently bought a Mac Pro 1,1 from my college as they were recycling their computers. This is my FIRST mac ever. However I was not aware that I couldn't update to OSX 10.8 Mountain Lion as I thought.

Apple Mac Pro "Quad Core" 2.0 (Original) Specs listed here -

Mac Pro "Quad Core" 2.0 (Original) Specs (Mac Pro, BTO/CTO, MacPro1,1*, A1186, 2113) @ EveryMac.com

I am majoring in Video Production so upgrading the memory and video card is a must.

Questions:

What is the highest OSX that I can install if I upgrade my Mac?

Could I run windows 7 on one HDD and the other HDD for the mac os?

What are the best graphic cards for mac pro 1,1 (Video Production so Final Cut Pro)? List them

Is there any way to skip from OSX 10.4.11 to any other OSX like Tiger without upgrading 1 by 1?

I want my Mac Pro to be as updated as the Macs they are selling in the market. My budget to spend is $300.

Could you guys list product links and other tutorial guys to help me out :)

I am glad I went to Mac!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I want my Mac Pro to be as updated as the Macs they are selling in the market. My budget to spend is $300.

If what you mean is...you want this Mac 1,1 to be as updated as currently selling Mac Pro's from Apple...it's just not going to happen! In fact...there's no amount of money you could spend on a Mac Pro 1,1 that would make it run like a currently selling Mac Pro. There's just no way you're going to be able to make a 2006 (1st generation Mac Pro) run as fast as a currently selling Mac Pro.

With $300...you may be able to purchase a better video card (there is one I know of that sells for around $250)...and more ram for Mac Pro 1,1's is very expensive (an 8gig upgrade will cost $217.99).