Partition Cannot be Deleted

Reaction score
I admit I have made a huge mistake, I tried to remove an item fro the context menu and ended up re installing from CClone. However I now have two partitions on my mac HDD. Split 250 GB and 750GB, I need to delete the 250GB partition but cannot.
I show it in Disk management and "Remove it"but it is still there . My computer is working fine but I have lost 250GB from my hard drive.
I am using CClone and Time machine but last time I tried I ended up with this problem.
Any help gratefully received as I am relatively new to Mac.
Thank you
RP

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Have you tried Disk Utility, but make sure your backups are up to date

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You can't remove the partition while booted from the drive. You either have to boot with your recovery install disk or boot to your recovery partition in order to remove it. Since you gave us no info about your version of OS X or your machine, that's the only advice we can give you for now.

When posting a question always give us info about your Mac and which version of OS X it's running.

OP
R
Reaction score
Hi
Thank you for the replies.My system is Mac Mountain Lion 10.8.2 Intel 4gb RAM
I think that I can boot to my CClone external HDD, But can I then just merge the two partitions without loss of my Mountain Lion OS, the 250gb partition which is causing the problem is showing on top of the Mountain Lion partition in Disk Utility.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
No, you can't do that via Carbon Copy Cloner. And thanks for posting your version of OS X.