Mac Noob Alert!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
First time user on Mac Mini running OS X10.4.11 | iPhone 5 | iPhone 3GS
What's up community!

I'm a total Mac noob, just started up my second hand mini mac still on Tiger (10.4.11)!

I'm trying to get to know how it works so I'm trying to ditch my win 7 laptop at work and jump feet first into this Apple lark :)

My question is, what's the best way to get started finding out how this thing works? Quite a stupid question in reality but I'm a Xerox analyst so I've messed around with printers, as my calling suggests, but i could do with a word processor and an email client if I'm to rely on my mac.

Any suggestions for good software? Is there a word processor in this thing? Is the mail client good enough or would you suggest a third party one?

Most importantly: What cool gadgets does this baby have :D

Thanks guys, I'll try not to clog up the site with annoying noob questions !

Thanks again

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
Does it have Pages installed? There is Word for Mac available also.

I don't use Apple's Mail (just internet based e-mail) but many do and it works just fine for them. It's an individual preference.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook pro 15" HDAG Late 2011, quad core i7 2.5, 256ssd/750hdd 16gb memory|IPhone 5 32gb|iPad 3 64G
I went to OSX on my Dell XPS about a year ago and thought same.. *** does this all do... about a week ago my Macbook pro arrived :)

Stick with it. Deffo worth the switch. Although I still consider myself a newb on Mac. (I only found out about cmd-shift-4 this week!)

Play with settings app for a little, and then forget about it.. it will all just work.

Apps wise.. hrm.
Safari is grand for www, never needed anything else.
try to work out finder,
look at terminal - gives you proper shell access, especially if you want to look under the hood.