Change software permissions/updates from one icloud account to another???

Reaction score
In a nutshell...I bought a used imac from a friend. It has a bunch of software programs like Office, Adobe etc. on it...which is one of the reasons I bought it from him. Problem is, apps like iphoto are telling me there are updates to install, but when I go to install them, it says I need to sign in with HIS icloud account name in order to do the updates. His wife doesn;t want him giving me the password to do so because apparently her credit card info. etc is stored on there. So...

Is there a way I can still receive the needed updates for the programs that are on there without having to log in to his account? Is there anything he can do that would allow me to do that, aside from giving me his password to simply get the updates?

I'm a mac newbie, so technical terms will be lost. I would need the answer in layman's terms. Any advice on how to handle this is appreciated. But please don't simply recommend wiping the system and reinstalling the programs myself. I already know that's an option, but I am trying to save some money, of course, not having to do that. Thanks in advance!

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
In layman's terms... no.

Apps purchased through the App Store are registered to the user ID.
The OS can be transferred, but that would occur by doing what you wish us to not recommend.
The ownership of the iLife suite that comes with new Macs can also be transferred, but it's a pitb at the moment.
Apple has not figured out how to make selling a machine and have the original software go with it quite yet.

Any apps not purchased through the app store, perhaps Office & Adobe, ownership would be transferred according to their individual policies.