iTunes deleted when changing home account via root. Help!

Reaction score
OK, so I am a mac newbie. I purchased an imac from a friend and the home directory shortname still has his name on it. After adding itunes to the computer and all my songs from an external hd and fiddling around for hours with artwork etc. I decided I wanted to get his name off of the home directory menu and replace it with mine (genius, right?!). I already had changed the admin account name via the user settings (so my name now appeared as the admin. account name, but I didn;t change the actual home directory shortname which still had his name), so I first tried the following method to change the home directory. I had no luck OS X: How to change user account name or home directory name.

At one point I got scared because I thought I got locked out of the pc, but luckily I got back in when I restarted with no changes being made to anything on the mac at all (his name was still there in home directory, all my software was still intact, including my itunes files).

I then found someone else's plan to go to a terminal app and use some "sudo" command to change the home directory account name. I simply followed the directions that were laid out. When I did that, it basically restarted my mac and when I logged back in, all of my itunes files that I had worked forever on organizing etc. were gone (itunes was if it was just installed anew). Luckily I have all my music saved on an external hd. In addition, a lot of the preferences and app settings were as if they were set back to default, and even though I thought I lost all of the software that was installed like Office, luckily they were still in the apps folder, but not set up in the dock as they were prior. The problem was, the home directory menu was STILL under his name.