My Compact Flash Card Reader won't mount anymore

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac, 2.5 GHz Interl Core i5, 4GB RAM, Harmon Kardon Sound Sticks 2, Crossfire ext HDD.
Hi

My USB CF (Compact Flash) Card reader is not mounting on my 2.5 GHZ Intel Core i5 iMac anymore.

Last week it worked fine to get pictures from my camera but now it won't mount at all.
I ejected it in the correct way rather than just disconnecting it but now i cannot get it to remount!
I cannot even see it in the disk utility or system profiler.

I have tried another card reader (a brand new one bought today) and the same problem exists. I've also tried different cards to see if that made a difference and they still arent being picked up on the Mac.

I have done all the usual things like rebooting, unplugging all other USB devices and then trying but nothing has worked.

I'm a photographer and I'm at my wits end here. I know the cards are fine as i have been using them without issue and they are also new.

Note: If I plug the camera in directly to the Mac, the Mac picks it up just fine as it always has done. Its just the card readers that it wont pick up anymore.

If anyone has any ideas at all other than the following (my so called friends advice) you'd earn my undying love:

Buy a PC
Use the camera (Thats why i bought the reader in the first place - importing RAW files from the camera is SLOW!)
Replace your CF cards (I have three 8GB cards two of which i had never used til today and they dont work either!)
Buy a new card reader (this is the 5th one in two days - none work on the Mac)

Many thanks in advance!

LIsa

OP
S
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac, 2.5 GHz Interl Core i5, 4GB RAM, Harmon Kardon Sound Sticks 2, Crossfire ext HDD.
Seriously does nobody know? There have been LOTS of views on this and no one seems to know. Even on the Apple forums all they suggested was a multiple PRAM and SMC reset and this didn't work either.