Mac OS X Mountain Lion | Copy & Paste

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Mac as I have just moved from Windows. I am just getting used to shortcuts and know the basics. However, I have one problem; I cannot copy a file from my USB & Mac to my external hard drive. It simply does not give me the option. How do I overcome this barrier?

If someone can answer this it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, EnvyJack.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
First, tell us which format your external hard drive is using? If the drive is formatted to NTFS, your Mac will be unable to write to it without the use of a special driver. Your Mac can only read a drive formatted to NTFS.

OP
E
Reaction score
I don't know how to tell if it is NTFS? If you can help me to work that out I would appreciate that.

Thanks,
EnvyJack

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Open Disk Utility on your Mac: Applications, Utilities, Disk Utility. Highlight the external drive and read what it tells you. Another way would be to right click on the external drive and select "Get Info". What does it say?

OP
E
Reaction score
I suppose this is not good then as it says: "Format: Windows NT File System (NTFS)". What's next?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
OK, thanks for posting back that information. Basically, you have two choices to resolve it:

1. Reformat the drive to FAT-32 or Mac HFS+ (that will destroy all data, however) If you can somehow copy the data off that drive to another drive also formatted to NTFS, then you could format that one.

2. Download and install a driver which will allow your Mac to read and write to the drive. We recommend "Paragon NTFS" from Paragon software. $19.95.
Download LINK

OP
E
Reaction score