Macbook Air for Graphic/Web Designer

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Early 2008 Macbook 2.4 4GB
I'm a graphic/web designer/developer. I work mostly with web graphics and create the occasional print graphic- most of the time nothing larger than an 18x24 poster. I'm currently working on an early 2008 Macbook with 4gb ram and 2.4 C2D. it's doing good, but is showing it's age a bit when working on certain things. it's been a great machine, albeit, not the nicest or fanciest for a designer, but it gets the job done.

having said all that, i'm now looking into making a new purchase soon. i am on a bit of a budget- i.e. a 15 rMBP isn't an option at all. being a young designer, i am on the move a good bit, working in coffee shops and out a lot of the time, so i am leaning a little more towards a notebook for now.

i really like that new macbook air alot, admittedly a little bit because it's such a neat machine. i'm wondering if anyone has any experience running Adobe CS4/5 on a macbook air? i mainly use PS, illustrator, fireworks, and dreamweaver. not usually at the same time though. i know that the CPU's are clocked a little lower, but keep in mind what i've been using comfortably, and i know that the SSD compensates a lot for that. and i would probably upgrade to 8gb of ram. i'll also note that i keep all my files on an external hdd so it's ok that the ssd in the air isn't quite so large.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
The SSD won't compensate for a lack of pure processing power, nor will it compensate for the lack of a discrete GPU, particularly in newer versions of CS. Yes, it will help in I/O intensive operations, but if you've got a decent amount of RAM, the only significant tangible difference will be how fast your programs open and how fast the machine boots up.