Word for Mac (2008)

Reaction score
Greetings - total newbie here, so patience please. Could someone please advise what's the most appropriate part of this forum to ask a question about word for mac? Not even sure if this is the type of material that is discussed on here, but hoping so. Thanks.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Using the forum names and descriptions as a guide. Try your best - sometimes questions could fit in multiple places. If it's in the wrong place, it will be moved by one of the staff members.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
C

chas_m

Here's probably fine, but we do have a subgroup called Mac OS X -- Apps and Games that it would also fit into.

OP
A
Reaction score
Thanks - and a Q

Thanks for the response - as you can tell I'm not a regular, so hoping that this question is okay here. My issue is Word for Mac crashing when a particular file is being used. It's a big file (44MB) that's loaded with graphics (all pdf and jpg, in case that matters). The file will open, but as soon as I try to do anything in the file (return, insert a letter, etc. etc.) Word crashes and does not recover the file. This happens almost instantly - no hangup, just crash-o-rama. I have tried cutting sections out of the document and pasting them into a fresh one, and sometimes the new document crashes sometimes not. I have also tried copying everything except the last paragraph mark (read this on another blog) and pasting into a fresh document, and also downsaving into word 97, but none of this has any effect. Any advice would be appreciated - again, if this isn't a good forum for this sort of questions, my apologies. Thanks in advance, and obviously I am more than happy to provide any other details needed. S