Buy retina display MacBook 13" -- OR -- Stay with MacBook Pro 2009 (8GB RAM)

Reaction score
What I'm really wondering is when 8GB RAM will be dated. I'm a freelance graphic designer/architecture student so I need my MacBook to do some heavy lifting.

I'd like to update my MacBook after now having it for 3 years and the retina display is very tempting on the 13" when released, but I really don't like the un-upgradable RAM soldered to the board.

I probably won't be able to afford the 16GB model if they release one, so I'll have to go with 8GB, which is what I currently have in my mid '09 MacBook Pro.

So which is better -

- Buying the 8GB retina MacBook Pro (an not having a RAM upgrade)
- Upgrading my mid '09 MacBook Pro with an SSD

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Retina Display

What I'm really wondering is when 8GB RAM will be dated. I'm a freelance graphic designer/architecture student so I need my MacBook to do some heavy lifting.

I'd like to update my MacBook after now having it for 3 years and the retina display is very tempting on the 13" when released, but I really don't like the un-upgradable RAM soldered to the board.

I probably won't be able to afford the 16GB model if they release one, so I'll have to go with 8GB, which is what I currently have in my mid '09 MacBook Pro.

So which is better -

Thanks in advance.

If you are not getting a performance boost then why upgrade?

OP
C
Reaction score
That's a valid point!

I guess the allure of the upgrade itself (and retina display) interests me.

But I am leaning towards the SSD upgrade. I guess I was just wondering if it's worth upgrading anything at this point, if I find that I'll be needing 16GB RAM around the corner...

Reaction score
That's a valid point!

I guess the allure of the upgrade itself (and retina display) interests me.