How to upgrade from Leopard to Mountain Lion?

Reaction score
Hello all. I am running "Leopard" on my mac that I have been running since 2009. I have never updated my software and I now realize that is a mistake. I want the newest OSX which happens to be Mountain Lion. I've read that if I get the disk I need either Snow Leopard or Lion to upgrade and I can't download it from the Mac store because I need Lion or higher. So what the heck do I do? Do I really have to purchase a new macbook or what? Thanks in advance for the help.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Hello all. I am running "Leopard" on my mac that I have been running since 2009. I have never updated my software and I now realize that is a mistake. I want the newest OSX which happens to be Mountain Lion.

One thing that should be mentioned. Since you're currently running OS 10.5.x...and you want to upgrade to OS 10.8...that's 3 versions newer. Do you have any expensive software installed that may be made incompatible with this OS upgrade?

Because if you do...there's a VERY good chance that when you upgrade to OS 10.8...much of that software will not run.

- Nick

OP
S
Reaction score
I actually do have some decently expensive programs installed. :/

The key problem here is that I don't want to use another browser outside of chrome and chrome yells at me that my flash is outdated EVERY page and I can't update it because OSX 10.5 is too old. There's no way to disable it or get the old version to run without that dreadful, God-awful, annoying yellow pop-up popping up. I just figured I may as well update my software on the way but if my programs will become obsolete then I really don't know. What's my move here? :p

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I actually do have some decently expensive programs installed. :/