Burning a DVD video

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to macs. I have, on my Mac Mini managed to download a video from my camcorder and using iMovie (and Youtube tutorials) managed to create a movie complete with titles and transitions. How can I convert this movie to DVD format and burn it to an external DVD burner (that I have)? There does not seem to be a program on this mac that came with Mountain Lion?

Youtube tutorials suggested clicking on share and then choosing iDVD but that choice is not there.

Thanks in advance you all.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The iDVD program is no longer included with new Macs. However, the free open source "Burn" can be used instead. Download from here.

C

chas_m

Can we consider consolidating these questions into a sticky?

This is a frequent question with numerous (and I mean NUMEROUS) threads and best of all -- easy, straightforward options for solutions.

Something like "How do I burn a 'movie' DVD on my Mac?" should do the trick.

OP
M
Reaction score
Is there a DVD Burning application I could buy which as user friendly (as I hear) iDVD was?

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Is there a DVD Burning application I could buy which as user friendly (as I hear) iDVD was?

For a Pay program I would recommend Roxio Toast. It's like Nero is for Windows but for OSX.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
+1 for Toast. Keep your eye open for bargains on Toast. It will occasionally go on sale for half price which is a substantial discount. Last Spring is was offered as part of a bundle with 6 other apps for $49.95.

C

chas_m