Email spam/malware/virus

Reaction score
Hi
I have had a iMac for 2 years and have been reading this forum for a while now and I have solved many problems(queries) from reading the posts here. Thanks to you all. But this time I can not find an appropriate, answer (here or anywhere else on the web) and it is driving me crazy.

I have been receiving e-mails from people I know (but don't correspond via e-mail) with. The e-mail subject says "for carla" (my name) and the address, I have since found out is not actually the senders address but a strange yahoo address. In the body of the e-mail is just one link.

The first time, I received such an e-mail, it was from a friend of a mutual friend. In the link was the word 'picture'. As I am a photographer, I thought this friend of a friend was sending me a link to some pictures that might interest me. So I clicked on the link (STUPID, I KNOW - please don't lecture me). The link went to a, kind of directory tree thing (sorry I don't really know what it is called), it looked kind of like the directory of a windows computer. I have seen this before from photographers that put their photos in private galleries for clients to proof. So I immediately thought that, she was sending me the link to some photos that she wanted me to look at. I clicked around (yes, I know, stupid again) but could not access anything. I left the mail and forgot about it.

A few days later another one from the same person arrived. But this time the words in the link were different and I then noticed that e-mail address was different too. This time I did not click on the link and trashed the e-mail.

Since then, I have got a few of these mails - all from different people (that I know but DO NOT normally correspond with via e-mail) And the email address is not their actual e-mail address. And it always says "for carla"