serious wireless airport help needed.

B

Bastaroid

Sorry about this but please try to bear with me. I'm brand new to Macs so I don't know much of the lingo.

I have a G5 with airport that i'm trying to establish a wireless connection to the internet with. Where the G5 sits, I KNOW that there's a signal because I can connect with a Windows laptop at the same location. I've gotten the G5 to at least recognize that there is a signal but it always tells me I need a password to connect, which i shouldn't. there is a encryption key but i tried entering that as the password but it doesn't work.
also, I want to set the G5 as a client. none of this base station crap. i don't even know what a base station is.

If you need more info, let me know. if you can help AT ALL, it would be greatly appreciated.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13" | MacBook Pro 13" | Mac Mini 2GHz C2D
have you run the network setup assisant? go into system preferences and there should be an assist me button. click that and follow the directions.

OP
B

Bastaroid

now it's not recognizing the signal again. the signal shouldn't be that weak. it is version 3.4 which i've heard does have problems with that. is there any way i can update that since i can't get to the internet on that computer?

OP
B

Bastaroid

It's my brothers and I think he's had it for a year. do you want me to write up the system profiler stats?

Reaction score
Well, I'm just asking because when I got mine it kept asking rejecting my password also. I just changed my password and everything worked fine after that. I'm very new to this, so I'm sure I won't be much help. I'm struggling with my own network issues as well. I can't seem to share my printer.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
Bastaroid said:
in the Mac world does Password=Encryption Key?