Windows won't activate Airport Extreme telephone modem

Reaction score
Greetings!

I am new to Apple products and this forum and only found it while trying to google for an answer to my question (below).

I am trying to set up a Windows (7) computer with an Airport Extreme that has the built in telephone modem. This is for my 85 year-old father who can't get broadband in his rural home.

The manual for the Airport Extreme says that the request for the internet over the wireless connection should activate the telephone modem to dial the ISP. However, it doesn't, whether I use IE, Firefox, or Chrome.

My questions:

(1) How do you set up a Windows computer to work with the Airport Extreme (AE) to connect to the dial-up ISP (via the wireless connection to the AE)?

(2) If no one knows the answer here, is there any other forum that might be able to help me with this question?

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can give!

[Note, I have already found Apple documentation that says that you can't initiate a telephone modem connection through an AE via a WIRED connection. That leaves only wireless, which is what I want anyway.]

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Is this a new Airport Extreme Base Station that you bought? I just read through the on line PDF manual for it.

The modem referred to in the Airport Extreme manual is a broadband modem (cable or DSL) not a dial up modem. There is no way that the AE can wirelessly activate your Windows Machine's built in dial up modem. Where in the manual did you read that it can do that?

OP
A
Reaction score
Is this a new Airport Extreme Base Station that you bought? I just read through the on line PDF manual for it.