MacBook Pro medio 2009, sudden heat issues.

Reaction score
This is going to be a lengthy post, so bear with me.

2 months ago, I suddenly noticed my MacBook Pro (medio 2009, 15", 4GB RAM, GeForce 9400M) heating up a lot harder than usual. I'm familiar with the heating issues these laptops have, but this wasn't normal. Looking at iStat Pro, I saw my fans almost taking off like an airplane at 5700 rpm, while watching only a livestream on my browser. I know Shockwave Flash takes up quite a chunk of your CPU, but I had never encountered this problem beforehand. The biggest problem wasn't just the heat or the fans, but the fact that my computer also started reacting rather slowly. Sometimes I'd even get beachballed, or the whole browser stopped responding for half a minute...

So I tried to see if gaming was still an option. Of course not. I had been playing League of Legends for several months without any issues. Whilst playing, I'd kick up my fans manually to about 4000 rpm, and they'd stay there throughout the whole game. Now, when I start up the game, it plays smoothly for the first 2 minutes. After the temperatures rise to a critical level, the fans start spinning up to 5700 rpm, and the whole game plays like a powerpoint presentation.On a sidenote: it sort of 'lags' every 1-2 seconds, and sometimes, after a long period, the game acts somewhat normal again (20 mins). This game uses wine to run, which isn't the most optimal way. So I tried playing Team Fortress 2, too. Probably even worse results! (but again noticeable 1-2 second interval lags)

Before anyone starts screaming: "Don't use your Mac for gaming!" etc., I wish to point out that these two games had been running perfectly for the past few months/years. Something's definitely wrong.