WiFi issues with my Mac. Please help!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am new to the iMac and new to this forum. Trust me, I am a rookie when it comes to computers, wifi, etc. My problem seems fairly simple, but i cannot figure it out. Here's the deal.......I recently purchased a new iMac desktop. It has been connected to my wifi network through my Linksys Router (model number is WRT160N V2.......about 3 years old). My other devices (a crappy Dell laptop and both of my iPhones) have no connectivity issues. But this iMac runs SO slow. Keep in mind, I have barely any memory used. When I called the 800 number (before warranty expired), they thought the issue might be because my router was 2 floors below my iMac. So I had Comcast come in and move it up a floor (now the router is in my living room and my iMac is in the loft with an open look at it from above). Much to my dismay, this helped slightly. Now when I get online it still runs very slowly. All the wifi bars are always lit, so I think it is getting a strong signal. On my iPhone, using it right next to my iMac, a song on iTunes takes about 30 seconds to download, whereas on the iMac, it is sometimes 7 or 8 MINUTES!!! Could it be the Linksys Router is not very good when used with an iMac? Am I missing something? I could use ANY bit of advice, as I am so irritated that I paid this much for a desktop that I can't use the internet with!!! I have actually started to use my 5+ year old Dell laptop because it is light-years faster. PLEASE HELP!!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
Well first off, make sure you have the latest firmware installed on the router.
Linksys WRT160N

In your wi-fi settings on the router, make sure your security is set to use WPA2 Personal. This is not only much more secure than WEP, but also ensures full compliance with 802.11n speeds.