OS snow leapord

Reaction score
Please pardon my ignorance, I am very new to a Mac, have always been a PC user.
So,
I got hold of this mac book pro... its version, i think, is 10.6.8
well,
Some how, i cant find the preferences icon any more and i dont seem to know how to pull it up.
i tried all the possible ways to locate it, but my understanding is, it has been deleted by my "son".
now, the usb stick i got along with the machine is damaged and i do not have any discs.

i was hoping to find a site where i can download the original OS snow leapord because i am the owner of the original licence, i guessing i am allowed to use it again.

is there a website available where i can download the restore content (disc or USB)

a torrent website or a link, maybe, ...?

ideally, i am now looking to completely erase and reinstall OS on the machine, and i need help.

Advanced thanks
Chris

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
So,
I got hold of this mac book pro... its version, i think, is 10.6.8

"10.6.8" is the OS version…not the model version of the MacBook Pro.

Some how, i cant find the preferences icon any more and i dont seem to know how to pull it up.

You're not really looking for the "preferences icon"…you're more looking for how to access the "System Preferences". To do this…go to the Apple drop down menu (upper left corner of the desktop area)…and select "System Preferences".

i tried all the possible ways to locate it, but my understanding is, it has been deleted by my "son".

Hopefully not.

i was hoping to find a site where i can download the original OS snow leapord because i am the owner of the original licence, i guessing i am allowed to use it again.

is there a website available where i can download the restore content (disc or USB)

Nope…no where to download OS 10.6 "Snow Leopard" legally. Your best bet is to call Apple directly…and see if you can purchase an install disk from them.