Need advice on buying a Mac

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a student and as part of my course need to learn about Iphone app programming. My course requirement says I need a Mac 10.7 OS and an Xcode simulator. I have 2 Dell laptops (windows OS) and wanted to know if I can install Mac 10.7 OS in windows PC or do I have to buy a Mac laptop? If Mac can be installed safely in windows PC, would I be successfull in app building? If buying is the only option then I wanted to get hold of an older version and upgrade it to 10.7 OS, considering my allowances are running :'(

Please help!!!!! I have never used or owned Mac before and my question may seem very basic...

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Welcome to Mac-Forums

You cannot run OS X on non-Apple hardware. You will absolutely need to purchase a Mac to do what you want. You can run Lion 10.7 or Mountain Lion 10.8 on most Mac's after 2009 or so.

I just recently picked up a 2009 20" iMac for my daughter to get started her on from eBay and got a pretty good deal for it. You can probably spend less for a newer Mac Mini but that would require that you have a monitor, keyboard and mouse already.

Let us know what your budget is and we might make some more concrete suggestions.

Also check out the listings in eBay to get an idea of what your money will get you..

OP
M
Reaction score
Welcome to Mac-Forums

You cannot run OS X on non-Apple hardware. You will absolutely need to purchase a Mac to do what you want. You can run Lion 10.7 or Mountain Lion 10.8 on most Mac's after 2009 or so.

I just recently picked up a 2009 20" iMac for my daughter to get started her on from eBay and got a pretty good deal for it. You can probably spend less for a newer Mac Mini but that would require that you have a monitor, keyboard and mouse already.

Let us know what your budget is and we might make some more concrete suggestions.