The new Retina MBP is lovely but...

Reaction score
I'm looking to buy a new MBP in the next few weeks, and yesterday I finally made it to an Apple store (I live miles from anywhere, so it's a major jaunt) where I was able to test the Retina and non-Retina machines side by side - after the hordes of students and local undesirables had finished checking their emails and tired of social networking courtesy of Apples laid back approach to store management.

Costs aside, I'm a web designer/developer, so the decision is a tough one. On the one hand the retina would be perfect for Photoshop work, but on the other, designing on a machine with a resolution 99% of the World currently don't enjoy is not a great plan for compatibility.

Anyway, as far as I could see the Retina Macbook Pros (for me) were:

Gorgeous (absolutely stunning) screen and resolution.

Very fast start up of apps thanks to SSD (though the comparison model had more RAM and faster processor than the non-retina MBP we were comparing it to).

Higher resolution output for a large external monitor.

Lower heat generation.

And the Retina Macbook Cons:

Everything's soldered in, so not going with Applecare cover would be suicide (I probably wouldn't bother with the non-retina).

256gb of disk space is way too small for me, and the cost of upping this to 500gb puts it out of my price bracket.

I was hoping I wouldn't fall in love with the new screen and make my choice harder, however the £2,500 price tag for the machine I'd need puts it completely out of my price bracket.

On the plus side, going from the Retina, back to the standard MBP wasn't an issue for me. I could appreciate the new resolution, but it didn't mean that after looking at a retina I couldn't face working on a standard machine.

Standard Macbook Pros:

Screen was perfectly usable for my needs. Not stunning, but still better than the HP laptop I'm using now.