Upgrading to Mountain Lion

Reaction score
Help - I'm new to Mac and not entirely sure what do to.

We have an MBP and a MBA. My daughter is the primary user of the Pro and I use the Air. By that I mean, I purchased both but she has her ITunes account on the Pro. I occasionally use it but just mostly the browser and to listen to her music. The opposite is true with the Air. Its my ITunes account on the Air. I'm not entirely sure who the Pro is "registered" to but since I purchased it maybe to me?

Anyway, I don't know if that information is useful or not but finally here is my question. I am planning to upgrade to Mountain Lion. I thought I read that you just need to buy one copy for all of your systems but I can't recall where I saw that so I might be losing me mind....

If I can buy once and install it on both machines, how do I do this if my iTunes account isn't already on the Pro? Can I install it on the Air and then go to the Pro, go into my iTunes App Store and download it again?

I appreciate your very detailed reply! :)

Thanks,

Amp

Reaction score
Hey Amp,

It's actually an incredibly easy process to update your MBP and MBA to Mountain Lion now that it is done 100% through your App Store.

First thing I will say is that you must be running Snow Leopard or Higher (OS 10.6 or higher) to access the app store. If you are running a lesser operating system, you are going to have to do take some extra steps.

Assuming you currently have Snow Leopard (OS 10.6)

You want to open your app store and search for Mountain Lion, it will probably appear as the first result, and cost around $20 dollars, you'll need to purchase this. You can sign into the app store with the same information you use for your itunes account. (account will be under quick links on your right side or it will prompt you to sign in upon purchase, but remember that for the next step)