Bootcamp quit during partition and now disk won't unmount.

Reaction score
Thank you in advance.

During the partition process boot camp quit unexpectedly and I had a data loss and no partition present itself in disk utility, I have been in and out of the Recovery HD and I have tried a secondary partition with that and the disk will not unmount.

I have tried everything I could find, reset PRAM and even tried to erase the hard drive and start fresh but that disk refuses to unmount and the external recovery Lion has will not be installed onto a USB stick.

Will running Boot camp again rectify this problem or is there something else wrong?

Reaction score
Im not sure this will help but here goes :

Hi, IM not an expert but I was running bootcamp yesterday and had to format my drive so learned a few things. Do you have a backup of the data? if you do... this is probably the best thing you can do. If you dont and ALL of the data is lost anyway then try this as well.