Mac as choice of graphic designers?

Reaction score
Hi. I'm a mac newbie... I've heard quite a lot of comments that Mac is the choice of most graphic designers when it comes to computers. Why exactly is that? Ease of use? Availability of good quality software? Better resolution? Other reasons? I'd appreciate some feedback. Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Its more of a traditional thing, since technically, a windows PC is now more than capable of doing the job.

If you work in a design company the chances are you'll be using a Mac

In the nineties, macs had better support for color matching, and their screens are calibrated closer to print work than PCs (PC default to a TV gamma). The differences in support for print color workflow are now pretty much mute.

As for ease of use, I would say Macs are better, but that's my opinion.

If you want a Mac, then go for it, but if you are happy with your PC, then you can use the same software and fonts, and after all, its the ideas in your head that count, not the type of computer you use to realise your ideas

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
Yep, 15 - 20 years ago there was a big difference. These days, the software is almost all identical (Apple manufactured software aside) and so too is the hardware. Since I don't use built in monitors for color critical work anyway, there isn't a difference to me in the panels even.

OP
T
Reaction score
Good points, Louishen, thank you.

I've actually gotten myself a 2012 MacBook Pro, after my PC gave up on me. It's my first mac, so I'm still feeling my way around, and getting used to windows-to-mac adjustments. The 'mac as choice of most graphic designers' comments got me thinking how I could make the most of using my new 'toy'.

Maybe one reason too is the sheer beauty of the graphical user interface - a far cry from that of Windows. ;P

Thank you too Dysfunction.