iTunes and Match - How do I make a different computer the primary?

Reaction score
I know there are a plethora of tutorials out there for transferring my iTunes library from a pc to my iMac. However, all of them were created before "Match" came into play. My pc is currently the "primary" machine for Match, with the source music files being on it. How do I make my new iMac be the primary machine? Do I have to turn match off (and lose all the uploads), copy iTunes folders over, then turn on Match on the iMac and get it to upload my entire music library again? or do I turn on Match on the iMac and get it to pull everything back down? Neither option is all that exciting. Is there any way I can copy the library over and just have the iMac take over as the primary iTunes computer? Thanks.

Reaction score
I found this article. Apple - iTunes - Match Im not a mac expert but correct me if im wrong - match is an iCloud based? Therefore it will sync to all your devices automatically as long as the devices are setup.

Therefore the first thing to try is to turn on match for your new mac and see if automatically syncs everything over (this should be a duplicate to whats already on your PC) the FAQ says match can be activated on up to 10 devices so I dont think you have to deactivate your PC to use Match, you will simply have to machines synced with your music on Match.

So try this simple step first and see what happeneds: "How do I turn iTunes Match on?
On a Mac or PC, open iTunes and choose Store >Turn On iTunes Match"

If it doesnt work let me know and ill do some heavier research into this for you

good luck!

OP
Lastmboy
Reaction score