SSD for mid-2010 27" iMac - I'm desperate here

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac i5 2.8GHz, 8GB RAM, 240GB OWC SSD + 1TB Apple HD
Post completely disappeared?! I'll start again...

Hi all,

I'm looking to upgrade my 27" mid-2010 iMac (model 11,3) with an SSD. I'm really struggling to find answers to the following questions:

Please, please do suggest any other SSDs you think would be worth me looking at.

I understand that putting an SSD in a 2010 iMac isn't the best of options, but I'm fed up of my slow, grumbling, popping HDD Apple sold with these iMacs almost 2 years ago now. I have read about the following drawbacks:

• Fans run at 100% without a software/hack fix
  • TRIM support is sketchy at best
  • Drives have a tendency of dying after a few months

I'm completely stuck for answers to the above. Being a web developer, I'm no newbie to Google, but am finding it nearly impossible to find some straight up answers for the above questions.

I'd hugely appreciate any advice, feedback, suggestions, or questions - I really am desperate here.

Thanks in advance,
Andy

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I give up, every time I post it just deletes itself. Apologies - please remove the thread.

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Hi all,

I'm looking to upgrade my 27" mid-2010 iMac (model 11,3) with an SSD. I'm really struggling to find answers to the following questions:

Please, please do suggest any other SSDs you think would be worth me looking at. I'm completely stuck for answers to the above. Being a web developer, I'm no newbie to Google, but am finding it nearly impossible to find some straight up answers for those questions.

I understand that putting an SSD in a 2010 iMac isn't the best of options, but I'm fed up of my slow, grumbling, popping HDD Apple sold with these iMacs almost 2 years ago now. I have read about the following drawbacks:

• Fans run at 100% without a software/hack fix
  • TRIM support is sketchy at best