compatibility issues between Mac Word and MS Word on boss' PC

Reaction score
Hello,

I work a lot from home for a legal firm. I send my files to my boss at the office who has to reformat almost all the legal documents I create in MacBookPro Word for Mac when he opens them on his PC MS Word? Anyone know what's up with the compatibility between the MS Word programs on these two platforms? These legal docs are very specific formatting and they are always messed up, so he wants to buy me a Windows machine :Angry-Tongue: (I've been using Macs since mid 1990's and don't want a Windows machine).

Does anyone know what the problems may be, and how to avoid them, and also, would Windows for Mac help and if so, then do I get MS Word for Windows to load on the Mac?

Mac OS X 10.6
Word for Mac 2011, Version 14.2.2
Confused. Thanks, Mamaglee

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
What version of Word is he using at the office? There are often minor differences in formatting even between different versions of Word for Windows, which is what prompted the adoption of PDF for documents that must maintain strict formatting integrity. If he's using an older version, you may find that even using the Windows version, there are minor variances.

OP
M
Reaction score
Good question. I will find out the version tomorrow. So would the best thing be to get pdf editing software in order to maintain integrity of formatting? Thanks for your prompt reply.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Good question. I will find out the version tomorrow. So would the best thing be to get pdf editing software in order to maintain integrity of formatting? Thanks for your prompt reply.

Do the documents typically require editing at the office once you've finished your work at home? If not, I would just convert them to PDF to send to your boss.