Safari Browsing Experience Changed

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mid '10 MacBook Pro, 128GB iPhone 6, 160GB iPod Classic, 32GB iPad 4th Gen, AirPort Extreme, AppleTV
Hi, please forgive my ignorance, as I'm still fairly new to the wonderful world of Macs. I'm using a MacBook Pro with OS X (10.7.4), and recently my web browsing experience changed. I've tried poking around the internet to find info, but to no avail. The most notable changes are at the top where the toolbar is. There used to be one window for entering a URL and a smaller Google window to the right for searching the web. Now, there is only one large window that spans the width of the toolbar and it can be used for either entering a URL or search terms, and to the right of the window it says "Reader". That's fine, but I still don't understand how the change occurred, and everything seems to have slowed down DRAMATICALLY. I get the spinning wheel of waiting much more often now. Also, under the "Safari" drop down menu, the option to "Clear Cache" has been removed. That too is fine, as I've researched and found that I can find it under the "Develop" drop down menu I've now selected to be shown. What concerns me is, how and why have these changes occurred? And I'm sure there may be other things that have changed that I just haven't discovered yet. I may have been spoiled with the previous speed of browsing with this machine, but I'm very disappointed and annoyed with how much it has slowed.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac i5 2.9 Ghz, 15" MBPro i7 2.0 Ghz, iPhone 5, iPhone 4s, ATV2, ATV3, iPad2, iPad Mini
You must have upgraded to Safari 6.0 which has just been released as these are new features included with that release.

DavidH

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey