Upgrading RAM

Reaction score
im looking to upgrade my RAM for my MacBook Pro Core i5 13" Early 2011, and not sure if i should go with 8GB or 16GB.

i play a lot of gaming, Diablo 3, Starcraft, and also am going to start making music with garageband, and then switch over to a more expensive software once i learn piano and start making beats.

so my question is i'm not sure if there is a major difference between 8GB speeds, to 16GB speeds, i can get 8GB of ram for $41 at best buy.

another question i have is where is the best place to get RAM for cheap. i'm new to upgrading ram, so any help would be nice.

and on another note,

I want to upgrade to Mountain Lion, i just bought it but after buying it ive read theres battery problems and speed problems, such as apps freezing.

Thanks.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Your machine uses:

2 - 204-pin PC-10600 (1333 MHz) DDR3 SO-DIMM

The important thing is to buy the correct memory. According to Mactracker you can install 16 GB (2 x 8 GB modules). We recommend buying memory from either Other World Computing or Crucial.

As long as you can afford to purchase 16 GB, go ahead and max it out. Other World Computing has the 16 GB kits for $157.99. LINK I buy all my memory from them.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
so my question is i'm not sure if there is a major difference between 8GB speeds, to 16GB speeds, i can get 8GB of ram for $41 at best buy.

You probably won't see any speed differences between 8 & 16gig. More ram does not necessarily mean more speed. If applications you work with are getting enough ram...then it doesn't matter if you have 4gig, 8gig, 16gig, 32gig, etc. of ram. If you have more ram than the applications you work with need...you will just have more free ram.