Backup and external Drives

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I am a total newbie to Mac having spent a long long time with Windows. A new MBP arrives on Thursday !

Can someone just give me some advice on backing up. I'm in he process of getting all the accessories I need but can I use one large external drive for both Time Machine back ups and for storage of other data, e.g. music, photos or would it be better to get two individual drives. I'm guessing e same question applies if I want to clone my drive - do I need another individual drive. I can just see me ending up with lots of external drives everywhere!

Thanks for some excellent advice which I have been avidly ploughing through

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
It is possible to have the same drive hold Time machine backups as well as other data. It might be a good idea to partition the drive first putting Time Machine backups on one partition and data on the other.

It should be possible to have Time Machine backups and a clone on the same drive but it really would need partitioning. Otherwise Time Machine may gradually eat into space the OS needs for swap fills.

C

chas_m

My system is simple: I have one external drive dedicated to Time Machine, and another external drive dedicated to a clone (using Carbon Copy Cloner, but you can also use SuperDuper or other programs if you prefer them). I don't store anything else on those drives because then I have to figure out how to back up the stuff on them! :)

I also have a large "media" drive (videos, RAW photos, iMovie projects etc) and a dedicated backup drive for that (so four in total). They sit neatly together in a little cubbyhole, and the cost of the drives was trivial compared to the peace of mind they provide.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2.2GHz i7 16GB RAM 250G SSD OS X Mountain Lion, iMac mid 2011, iPhone 3G