SFTP & Osx & user?

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm very new to Mac's, but I've been a computer engineer coming up to ten years now.

Ive had a frustrating problem today with trying to get an SFTP server running on my new (as of yesterday) mac. In the end, I resorted to running one on a windows VM and using that.

However, I know that OSX supports it natively and I'd like to make use of that, but I just can't get it working.

I'm following this guide:

Restricted SFTP in Mac OS X Leopard | MacResearch

And I'm pretty sure I've done all the steps correctly. However, when I sftp username@localhost it asks me for the password and then immediately disconnects me; But only if I use the correct password. If I use the wrong one, it simply asks me for it again.

Indeed it also immediately disconnects if i use ssh username@localhost

sftp username@localhost -vv pretty much shows a successful authentication and then just says the remote computer closed the connection.

I've a feeling this is because I haven't enabled a remote login right for the user account I'm trying to access (I think this because I can log in SSH/SFTP just fine with the account I initially set the computer up with)

However, I've no idea at all how to enable a particular user account remote access rights, and I worry about just blindly following tutorials on the web because I know that you can royally screw things up "sudo'ing" commands left right and centre without actually understanding what your doing (Which I don't)

If anyone at all can please give me some pointers that would be amazing, Bear with me because I'm learning but I'm trying my best!

I can provide any logs and output of commands upon request.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
late 2012 mini w/SSD
So - to help me understand better...
You are on one username and trying to connect to another username's account/shared files via sftp to localhost?
Can you sftp into the Mac from another computer?

OP
D
Reaction score