MacBook Pro retina display - restart due to problem?

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to Mac and OSX, and my first Apple product (besides an iPhone) is a MacBook Pro with retina display that I got about a week ago. Since I don't know too much about owning a Mac yet, I was wondering if anybody could help me with the problem I've been having.

Instead of always shutting down my computer when I'm not using it, I sometimes just shut it (the monitor, physically) and leave it be until I return to work. However, I've noticed for the past two days or so that when I come back to start working again (after a few hours of not using the computer), I see that it has had to restart due to a problem. It doesn't give any information related to the problem (besides details of the report, which I can't decipher), so I have no idea why it's doing this. It's also a new computer, so I'm kind of concerned.

Can anybody help me understand why it might be doing this? It's happened twice now. I'm not sure what sort of information would be helpful to give in finding the problem, so I'll leave it at this.

Thank you

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Since your new Retina MBP is only a week old, I recommend you take it back to Apple and let them figure our why it's doing what it's doing. If it's a defect, they'll swap it out for a new one. You have a no questions asked two week return on the machine.

OP
A
Reaction score
Ok great, I will probably do that. Thank you.

However, I looked on the Console to try to find the details of the report again. I noticed these messages:

5:08:27 PM configd: network configuration changed. (This was the time I left.)
6:18:27 PM hidd: MultitouchHID: device bootloaded (I think this is when it restarted.)

8:45:11 PM kernel: Previous Sleep Cause: 5 (This is when I logged back in and found it had been restarted)