Can update my imac 10.5.8?

Reaction score
Can i update my imac 10.5.8?

im fairly new to mac computers:Confused:

firstly, how do you find if you computer is leopard or lion? - doesn't say in the 'about this mac'

and can i update from 10.5.8 to higher?

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
If you are running 10.5.8 then your OS is Leopard. (10.6.x = Snow Leopard and 10.7.x = Lion. When it comes, Mountain Lion will be 10.8.x)

Moving to an updated OS depends on the specs of your Mac which we will need to have before answering your question. This can be found via "About this Mac': Processor, Memory etc. Click on "Advanced" for more info.

I assume you acquired your Mac second-hand and my guess is that if it was upgradeable to a higher OS, this would probably have been done. So let us know the info, but don't hold your breath about an update.

Ian

Reaction score
Going from 10.5.8 to 10.8.x ML

Hey I´m running 10.5.8 as well and wanted to go to ML 10.8x Do you know if I can avoid going to Snow L --> Lion --> ML? Can I backup or carbon copy and the start fresh? I yes, can you explain how, and recommend me a backup system?

Cheers!!

The info of my mac:

Model Name: MacBook
Model Identifier: MacBook5,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MB51.007D.B03
SMC Version (system): 1.32f8
Serial Number (system): W8843L2J1AQ
Hardware UUID: 59F38B1B-C49A-54BE-82DC-C61B586C97FB

If you are running 10.5.8 then your OS is Leopard. (10.6.x = Snow Leopard and 10.7.x = Lion. When it comes, Mountain Lion will be 10.8.x)