installing/uninstalling apps - how?

Reaction score
hey

right, this is more an advice question than a help question

basically i was hoping that someone can give me a rough idea as to how mac os x works? how/where it installs things to, where people would advise me saving my downloads, stuff like that...

i ask this very simple question because ive just got my new G5 and im brand new to the mac os. i just wanna get a baring of how its different to windows. the reason im confused is because it seems that there are very simple folder structures for certain things, however i have still managed to install msn messenger for mac onto my desktop, at least i think i have anywho:S. im not a complete idiot...honest...i almost got my head around linux on my own lol

sorry for babbleing

hope sum1 can lend sum advice.

regards

fraser

Reaction score
Frozen said:
hey

right, this is more an advice question than a help question

basically i was hoping that someone can give me a rough idea as to how mac os x works? how/where it installs things to, where people would advise me saving my downloads, stuff like that...

i ask this very simple question because ive just got my new G5 and im brand new to the mac os. i just wanna get a baring of how its different to windows. the reason im confused is because it seems that there are very simple folder structures for certain things, however i have still managed to install msn messenger for mac onto my desktop, at least i think i have anywho:S. im not a complete idiot...honest...i almost got my head around linux on my own lol

sorry for babbleing

hope sum1 can lend sum advice.

regards

fraser