Total Newbie

Reaction score
Hi, Guys,

I have just switched to Mac, with a Power Mc G5 - the biggest computer I have ever had - the thing is huge. But cheap - got it used, to test the water, so to speak. I am completely ignorant of all mac knowledge - don't know a thing about them, but am hoping that it is better in any way than the PC that I suspect will kill me by stroke one day.

So far I have figured out how to get my usb mouse to work how I expected it to, and how to make the keyboard work - the G5 came with nothing but a powercord, so I am using the usb keyboard and mouse from my pc.

I would very much appreciate suggestions for making my Mac experience better, so please comment. ;)

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I would very much appreciate suggestions for making my Mac experience better, so please comment. ;)

Welcome to Mac-Forums.:)

It would probably be easier...if you asked specific questions. Then we have something to focus on.

- Nick

Reaction score
First, don't expect it to be your Windows PC
Second, Keep in mind that the computer is not new
Third, Upgrade to 10.5 soonish it's the closes to it's 2 soon to be three successors
Fourth, Flash sucks and you need a hack to make it work with anything contemporary.
Fifth, Old Version Downloads - OldApps for Mac is your friend
Sixth, I love PowerPC more than is rational, but the user experience of a new Mac is worlds different than an older one.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
As a former G5 owner I can tell you that the blast of hot air coming out of the rear fan is wonderful in winter .lol

Seriously, those were great machines. Feel free to ask any questions that come to mind.

C

chas_m