Trouble extracting photos from external hard drive

Rhm

Reaction score
This is my first time, and I'm not a computer whiz!

My first iMac was about 8 years old when it started acting up. I wanted a new Mac desktop so bought the 27" new one. Unfortunately, the old Mac died and I took it to a data doctor to extract the hard drive which they declared intact. When I tried uploading data from the old hard drive to my new Mac, it failed. I took the hard drive and new Mac to Apple and they determined that the formating or sequencing (?) was incompatible with the new Mac. We found a free software called Disk Aid and some of the data came alive (desktop, some downloads, some music, and documents). Unfortunately, the photos are hidden somewhere on this hard drive and can't extract them. About 25% of my pics were in other folders and I loaded them into iPhoto. I need the other 75% or about 7500 pics, some of which are the only ones I have.

I tried everything intuitive to no avail. Can someone guide me?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Too late now.... we always advise folks NOT to store valuable photos on a hard drive. Why? Because they fail. You might have to take your hard drive to somewhere that can extract the photos. However, data recovery can be very expensive.

OP
R

Rhm

Reaction score
Not so fast, chscag! The Apple genius was able to extract the pics in 20 minutes thru a master file. I was able to retrieve all the photos. But, I learned my lesson and will never take the HD for granted. Thx for your help.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey