Updating OS X questions

Reaction score
Hello.

I'm just about to update my OS X from OS X Snow Leopard to OS X Lion (as I imagine that I need Lion for the upgrade to Mountain Lion that comes out next month).

I currently have a Bootcamp on my machine, with Windows 7 installed on it, when I update the OS X, will this delete my Widows Partition at all?

Also, will the OS X update delete my files on my Mac Hard Drive? I'm quite new to the Mac world, so I'm not quite sure how it all works, so any advice would be really appreciated.

Thank you!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
No, I'll not reformat your drive

For Mountain Lion, I believe the requirements are Snow leopard or up, so you don't have to update if you don't want to yet

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Hello.

I'm just about to update my OS X from OS X Snow Leopard to OS X Lion (as I imagine that I need Lion for the upgrade to Mountain Lion that comes out next month).
Not really. You can go directly from Snow Leopard to Mtn Lion per Apple's Keynote address
I currently have a Bootcamp on my machine, with Windows 7 installed on it, when I update the OS X, will this delete my Widows Partition at all?
No, assuming you install the new OS without erasing (reformatting your HD).
Also, will the OS X update delete my files on my Mac Hard Drive?
No, again assuming you don't reformat.

Regardless, you should always have a backup before doing an OS install.

EDIT: Beaten again! Need to type faster. ;)

OP
I
Reaction score
Hey louishen, thanks for the quick reply.

Oh is that so? I've been trying to find the requirements online, but couldn't find any that mentioned what OS X it would be updating from. Have you got any links that I could read up about it?