HELP! Accidentally removed iPhoto database

Reaction score
Please help! I was looking for a file in Finder and came upon seemingly-strange files (I'm not a computer expert at all) so I followed them back to their folder not realizing that it was part of iPhoto, and deleted them, thinking they were some kind of extraneous material. Then I realized they were part of iPhoto, went and removed them from Trash. But I can't find a way to make the iPhoto database work in iPhoto. When I open iPhoto it is completely empty! I just got back from a long trip and I had all my photos there, edited and organized...please help! What do I do? When I open iPhoto it prompts me which iPhoto library I want to use, and then it doesn't open anything but instead prompts me again telling me I need to upgrade iPhoto. I decided not to touch anything yet and ask for help. Thank you in advance!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I decided not to touch anything yet and ask for help. Thank you in advance!

You should have made that decision before deleting the files in the first place. When you restored the files from the Trash where did you put them? You can restore files from the Trash by right clicking on them and selecting "put back". The system will return them to their right place.

Do you have a backup of your photos? On the camera perhaps?

You can create a new iPhoto library by holding down the option key when opening iPhoto, but that's not going to do any good unless you can find your photos.

OP
M
Reaction score
When I restored the files I tried moving them into the "Pictures" folder on my computer, and tried to combine them with iphoto. I did not know there was a "put back" option. What I am asking is currently, does anyone know how I recombine the Database folder with the iPhoto application?