MacBook won't shut down.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black MacBook 2.2GHz C2D, 4GB Ram - iMac G4 700MHz, 512MB Ram
Hey guys, so I've been having some trouble with my MacBook recently, for some reason, after I select "Shut Down" from the apple menu, my computer does not shut down, instead the dock disappears, the menu bar disappears, and then it gets stuck. My mouse is still moveable and my background is still visible, but that's all I can do. I've waited 20 minutes and still no change, it forces me to do a hard shut down. (which I hate doing)

Any ideas? I've repaired disk permissions, and checked activity monitor with no other Apps running and everything seems normal, at least no processes that should keep it from shutting down successfully. This all started after I installed a software update, can't quite remember exactly what it was but it included a Java and security update, could this somehow be causing the issue?

Any help would be appreciated. :)

Reaction score
So I am new to the MacVerse myself but do you know if they have some sort of OS repair you can run like windows has? If so you may want to run it, and not sure if repairing disk permissions is the same?

EDIT: Try this
http://osxdaily.com/2012/02/08/repair-boot-disk-mac-os-x-disk-utilit/

Also Check your Disk Space, it seems it has problems if the disk is too full

ALSO found this.

Launch the Console application in any of the following ways:

☞ Enter the first few letters of its name into a Spotlight search. Select it in the results (it should be at the top.)

☞ In the Finder, select Go ▹ Utilities from the menu bar, or press the key combination shift-command-U. The application is in the folder that opens.

☞ If you’re running Mac OS X 10.7 or later, open LaunchPad. Click Utilities, then Console in the page that opens.

Step 1