Mid 2009 Macbook Pro Heat Issues

Reaction score
Hello World,
I'm a fairly mid range user (in terms of how taxing my activity is on a computer) of a Late 2009 13.4" Macbook Pro (the lowest model, with upgraded memory 2 -> 4 GB, running Lion). Being a programmer, I generally multitask with Xcode/Eclipse/Text Wrangler, and a browser open (with mail running in the background).

I have been having some pretty significant issues of my laptop heating up to the point at which it is borderline impossible to use (one of the CPU sensors reached 95 degrees celsius at one point due to Temperature Monitor). It heats up pretty quickly to the high-80s within 15 minutes of booting it up and I invariably have to turn it off and place it one a floor fan to cool off. Additionally, I'm having the same issue of a very loud fan noise which makes it hard to watch videos or stream any media with clarity.

The folks at the genius bar ran their tests on the temperature sensors/cooling system and said that there was no issue with them - they didn't really believe my story, saying that the computer is programmed to shutoff automatically if it indeed gets too hot to use (which it doesn't). Additionally, they said that any heating up is caused by 'excessive strain on the CPU'. Now I may be going out on a limb here, but I'm hard pushed to believe that I'm straining it all that much with just a browser and an IDE open, with mail pinging gmail's IMAP servers every few minutes or so. That said, I suppose it's possible...

Given that I can't count on any genius bar support on the matter, are there any changes I can make on my end to alleviate these issues? It's unusable to the point at which I'm going to need to shuck out >1400 for a new one if this can't be changed :[

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro with Retina Display: Core i7 2.3GHz, 16GB, 256GB, Mountain Lion