Visually impaired dude buys his first Mac

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I found this forum via a Google search. I am legally blind and was born with Optic Atrophy, and there is nothing man can do about it. I have been using a Dos/Windows PC for 25 years or so from Jr. high until now. I also used Linux and liked it better than Windows but Linux did not support the iPod Touch, iPad 3, iTunes, etc. Sure there was Wine but it just never worked right. I had to go back to Windows because of the iPod/iPad and the fact my online college wants you to use MS Office and I found that the free office suites such as Open Office did not work completely with MS Office files such as templates that the instructors wanted you to use when typing your paper for class.
I had been thinking about a Mac for a while but could not afford one and could not make myself get past the high purchase price when compared to a PC. Well, I finally did it. I am now typing this from a new iMac and so far I like it a lot. I have the screen set up so I can see it well. I am finding that with OS X you can do a lot that Windows would not do without some expensive software such as ZoomText. I love the two finger scroll of the touchpad and the zoom feature that you can use anywhere in your Mac. You could not do that in Windows.