Mid 2012 MBP

Reaction score
Hey all :)

New here, so first of all just saying hi - and secondly, I'll jump right into the question.

I'm looking to purchase either the newly released MacBook Pro (non-retina) or the MacBook Pro Retina display, and I'm having a hard time deciding which is better, and looking for your advice. I'm a web/mobile app developer (long time web dev. but new to mobile dev.), and will spend most of my time with the laptop connected to my Apple Cinema Display, and an external keyboard and mouse, but of course how it performs strictly as a laptop is also quite important.

The Pro's for the Retina display Pro IMO are:
- screen (though less desktop space at optimal settings versus high-res panel option in non-retina)
- compactness
- cooling & quietness (this is based on the fact that I don't think they've re-vamped the cooling on the older-style MBP unibody, and from what I hear the new Retina MBP is very quiet, and the fans don't even spin up at all unless there is continued stress on both the GPU and CPU) **this is 'extremely important' to me, as I have pretty much 0 tolerance for noisy gear
- better speakers/sounds

For the non-retina:
- upgradability (I have a brand new Intel 520 SSD I could throw in there and buy the 750GB 7,2000 rpm drive to use as a spare/storage drive - also, I'd throw in 2x8GB ram sticks)
- I'm assuming this uses a new chipset as well with 6GB/s controller support for SATA?
- built-in Ethernet port

As you can see, I can upgrade the non-retina to be just about exactly the same, for less money spec wise in terms of CPU/GPU/RAM/storage - but does the few improvements, and the much sleeker form factor + retina make it worthwhile for a noticeable difference in cost? Which would you prefer?

The only other thing I'm considering is that I'm going to have to get used to developing sites with high-dpi displays in mind (as well as apps in general) sooner rather than later - so how much would this play into the laptop purchase?