Sudden wifi problems: can connect to router, but no internet connection

Reaction score
I'm hoping you guys can help me out with a frustrating problem I've been having for the past day or so.

About 6 pm yesterday evening, I was watching Netflix on my Wii when it suddenly experienced connection problems. "No surprise," I thought, since it had been raining/storming lightly that day and it could have been a temporary problem. I checked with my laptop and iPhone and, while both of them were connected to the router, neither of them had internet access. Whenever I used Chrome on my Macbook, I would get a "DNS lookup failure" error page. I connected my laptop directly to the ethernet cable and to my surprise, I received a perfect internet connection.

I have been using this router (Linksys E1200) for the past six months without a single problem, so for the first time since I set it up and after unplugging it numerous times, I typed in the router's IP. Strangely, since I'm the only one with access to the router and didn't change it, the default "admin" for username and password did not work. I reset the router back to the factory settings, setting the router name and WEP passcode back to what it was previously. Still, no dice.

I think it should be of note that when I accessed Network Utility, I was still receiving and sending packets, but at an extremely slow rate (sent and received 2 about every second). However, when I pinged "www.ebay.com", all of the packets were lost.

Can anyone figure out why my wireless router suddenly decided not to function?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey