Retina MBP or Fully upgraded Air?

Reaction score
I'm a developer, and my boss is buying me a new laptop. Our original plan was to get the stock higher end stock retina MBP, but I'm seriously considering asking for the fully upgraded Macbook Air instead.

The Air fully upgraded has 512Gb SSD, 8Gb Ram, Dual Core i7 2.0Ghz processor and the intel built in graphics.

The Pro has same specs but a 2.6Mhz Quad Core processor and the GeForce 650m 1Gb graphics card.

Our back end is in .Net, but I'm also working on our iPhone aps, so I constantly have XCode running as well as Windows in Parallels with Visual Studio, so I definitely need the 8Gb of ram, and with two operating systems and everything else the full 512Gb HD is a must.

I'm not so hot on the retina display, but the processor is quite a bit beefier. On the Air I really like the portability and lightness of it, but wonder if the processor will be enough.

Reaction score
I'm a developer, and my boss is buying me a new laptop. Our original plan was to get the stock higher end stock retina MBP, but I'm seriously considering asking for the fully upgraded Macbook Air instead.

The Air fully upgraded has 512Gb SSD, 8Gb Ram, Dual Core i7 2.0Ghz processor and the intel built in graphics.

The Pro has same specs but a 2.6Mhz Quad Core processor and the GeForce 650m 1Gb graphics card.

Our back end is in .Net, but I'm also working on our iPhone aps, so I constantly have XCode running as well as Windows in Parallels with Visual Studio, so I definitely need the 8Gb of ram, and with two operating systems and everything else the full 512Gb HD is a must.

I'm not so hot on the retina display, but the processor is quite a bit beefier. On the Air I really like the portability and lightness of it, but wonder if the processor will be enough.

You can't compare between these two computers because other than the "portability." the new macbook Pro is MUCH better at everything.